Pain in back hips and butt at day 4 of extendedfast

(Susie) #1

Hi all
Complete newbie here.

About 6 to 7 weeks ago I decided I needed to change. Menopause meant I just kept putting weight on, mostly round my middle, rest of me is skinny. Bought a blood glucose monitor and my BS was def higher than the norm
Started with one day fast. Did a 3 day fast a couple of weeks later and have just finished 5 day water only fast. Now looking towards more of a kerogeic lifestyle.

My question is around the intense pain I had in my lower back hips and butt. Started at about the 4.5 day mark. So bad that I quit the fast 3hrs short of the 5th 24 hr period. Feel fine now

Day 8 on Keto Low Back Pain!
Having trouble with EF? Discomfort etc...? Try the EF golden rule of using a laxative pre fasting

Iā€™ll be watching these responses as I had the exact same experience fasting and in the very early days of keto. Seems to hit the biggest muscles, and worst at night trying to sleep. Iā€™m assuming it is caused by low electrolytes but would be keen to find out details

(KCKO, KCFO) #3

Electrolytes. Take Sodium, Magnesium Citrate, and Calcium Citrate to relieve those aches and pains. Also stay well hydrated. Tons of threads on here about supplementing so the electrolytes stay good. @Brenda has posted her ketoaid recipe on many threads, search for it.

(8 year Ketogenic Veteran) #4

Mid-Back Pain During EF