What's wrong with me?

I know the typical answer is to talk to your doctor, but my doctor tells me to eat whole grains and avoid fat so it’s pretty sad when I don’t consider my doctor to be an expert in health.

I’m not asking for medical advice from anyone here, just wondering if anyone has come across anything similar.

So I’m about 5’10" 300lbs, big gut, typical body shape for a diabetic. I am a programmer so I sit on my butt for 8+ hours at work, and then I go home and sit on my butt some more. Drink a lot of terrible crap like energy drinks and root beer and coke. Eat pop tarts for breakfast because its a quick thing to grab at the gas station on the way to work. For a while I was eat Culver’s for lunch just about every day and almost always getting a concrete mixer with reeses.

I suspected if I’m not diabetic, i’m probably at least pre-diabetic. I got a blood glucometer and tested my fasting blood sugar in the morning after waking up. I don’t remember my day 1 results, but I was surprised so I tested it a few times in the morning after waking up. It was always in the 70-85 mg/dl range. So even with my terrible nutrient deficient sugary diet, sedentary lifestyle, and 300 pound body, to my shock, I was still not even pre-diabetic.

So I thought maybe I’m insulin resistant. I’ve listened to a lot of Robb Wolf’s podcasts among others and one thing I’ve heard a lot is when someone has a lot of belly fat, you can be sure they are insulin insensitive.

To test my insulin sensitivity I tested my fasting blood sugar in the morning again, ate some food and drink with lots of sugar, as usual, and tested my blood sugar periodically after that. Of course there was a big spike after 30 minutes, but after about 1.5-2 hours I was back down to a totally normal blood sugar.