My sharply rising CAC score - and why I'm staying the keto course đź––

(Joey) #1

SHORT VERSION

After embarking on a diligent keto eating style in July 2019, my CAC scores have risen steadily:

55 - Aug 2019
68 - Feb 2020
207 - May 2021

Virtually all of the calcification found (and increases thereof) is evident in the RCA (Right Coronary Artery).

After further research (and considerable angst), I can’t identify any heart-smart course of action besides staying the course and doing exactly what I’ve been doing since mid-2019 when I went keto.

If you’re either interested and/or have any science-based thoughts to share with me (and others in this situation), please enjoy the long version below and feel free to chime in.

LONG VERSION

July 2019: As a 62 yr old male who ate “low-fat” for decades (therefore high carb), I jogged daily, BMI=24, acceptable lipid panel and was generally healthy (i.e., no meds), yet I was feeling “old” … stiff morning joints, nighttime GERD attacks, trigger-finger in both hands, tired easily, soreness after yardwork, etc. I also worried about my wife’s well-being as she was not eating nearly as “healthy” as I was; I thought I could get us both aimed in a different direction.

So after much reading/research (including every episode of 2KDudes), I went full keto in 7/19, tracking every bite for almost a year (Carb Mgr app).

Within weeks I began to feel amazing. Every single “aging ailment” noted above disappeared. And my sense of feeling remarkably healthy again has remained with me for these past two years - now am 64 yrs old and loving life in this restored body.

BTW, I also lost 4" at the waist, 25 lbs on the scale, and my BMI is now 20. HIIT strength training 3x weekly, HIIT-Sprint cardio training. Now weigh 140lbs @ 5’ 9" My strength, concentration, digestion, stamina all now rival my “20 yr old” self. (My wife has followed along, but not as diligently - yet another story.)