Hi everyone, newbie here šŸ˜

(Rachel ) #1

Just wanted to introduce myself. My names Rachel I am from the South, raised on peas and cornbreadšŸ˜. Iā€™m in my mid 30ā€™s now, married with teenagers, and they can attest that Iā€™ve tried many fad diets. So much that I was determined that I wouldnā€™t try another one. End of March this year, I decided enough was enough. We would not have any unhealthy foods in our home! No sugar, no junkfood etcā€¦
I purged our home of unhealthy foods March 30th, switched to whole grain breads, rice etc. No sugar. No sugary cereals. Only, Veggies, fruit, lean meatsā€¦
At my heaviest, I was 285. After about a month of healthy eating, my husband had lost 15 pounds, my daughterā€™s had slimmed up some. But after the second week or so, I couldnā€™t lose any weight. I had lost 10 lbs pretty quickly (water weight). But then it stalled. I was limiting calories, eating whole grains, meat and veggies, plus walking/exercising. And I felt like I was starving. I was so frustrated.
I then decided to limit my carbs. I wasnā€™t doing keto or any other diet, I just felt like carbs were holding me back from losing weight. After a few days, I felt amazing. I had a ton of energy, and never felt hungry, I was amazed. Then I started feeling really sick, so I added some carbs back into my diet.
After days of reading and watching everything on keto, I decided to give it a try. The right way this time, I started drinking water with electrolytes right away. So now Iā€™m back to having no cravings, not hungry. And Iā€™m in awe. Never in my life have I not craved carbs. So I kindā€™ve accidently stumbled into keto and ketosis.
Iā€™m now down to 264. 10 pounds in 2 weeks. Iā€™m sooo excited, and canā€™t wait to lose the other 120 lbs!
My hope is in a year Iā€™ll be at my goal weight (if not before!).