Curiously weird BG and ketone readings

I have been doing keto pretty religiously now for six months and have done several 36 and 42 hour fasts. This last month though I must admit I have been doing “Lazy Keto” and just making sure my carbs were low (20g or less) and then eating till I wasn’t hungry. On the 4th though I went off the wagon and ate some things with sugar and such, and maybe a little too much vino… Anyway, I am now on hour 37 of fasting after my 4th of July celebration. I have been taking my blood measurements since I woke up this am, and my blood glucose continues to climb and my ketones drop. I woke about 4 hours ago. Upon waking my BG was 102 and my ketones were 1.2. Now, they are at 110 and .8 respectively. I have had nothing to eat, only black coffee (2 cups) and water.

I use the keto Mojo, and I assume that is accurate. Any thoughts? I plan on fasting till these numbers start going in the right direction. That might mean 42 hours, maybe 48, or who knows?

(Full Metal KETO AF) #2

This sounds like the dawn effect, BG is naturally higher in the morning because of glucose released by the liver, ketones generally rise as the day goes on from a minimal morning reading, I suspect ketone production is lower early because of the glucose present. As the glucose is used ketones should rise. Your experience seems a bit off kilter but given the recent binge will probably resolve quickly. :cowboy_hat_face:

Well, now at 39 hours and BG is at 100 and ketones are back to 1.2. Right direction but still not encouraging. This fast may take a bit longer.

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #4

Things sometimes take longer to resolve themselves than you might think. See this: