Would this fast concept work?

fasting

(Roald Jurrian Kamman) #1

Hi,

I am a sports science student and am currently working on a 20 day water fast.
Now I am at the start of day 4 and i am feeling great!

I am also busy with more information and research about fasting and I am coming across many controversial issues.
In particular the difference between a dry fast, water fast and protein sparing fast.
Now I have a question for any more experienced fasters among us who can help me assess the next theory. Would really appreciate it if you can explain the assessment from good knowledge.

Review points that I would like to see again:

Safety.
Time of effectiveness certain fast durations.
Atrophy.
Feasibility.
Fat loss effectiveness.
Detox effectiveness.
Effectiveness of combining multiple fasting methods.

The crazy idea is to combine the three to bring the benefits of all together in one long fast. Part of this is to do 7 days of protein sparing fasting after every 8 days of water/dry fasting and maybe a few light workouts to prevent atrophy as much as possible.

It would look a bit like this:

day 1-4: Water fast.
day 5: Dry fast.
day 6-8: Water fast.
day 9-15: Protein sparing fast. (possibly light resistance workouts?)
day 16-22: Water fast.
day 23: Dry fast.
day 24-30: Protein sparing fast. (possibly light resistance workouts?)
day 31-36: Build up according to eating schedule on target weight-based values.

If it is safe enough, I would like to try it myself and correctly document the results and the process.

I would love to hear from you.

Sincerely,
Roald Jurrian Kamman

(Bunny) #2

My opinion:

I think you can achieve the same exact same result with fasting (even with some carbs) intermittently and consistently rather than stressing out the entire metabolic system for extended periods of time which it is potentially capable of, if push comes to shove.