What's the deal with saturated fat?

science

All my life I’ve been told “saturated fat bad,” but just lurking around here a couple days I see some people actually try to get more saturated fats in their diets.

My wife doesn’t want to do keto with me cuz she’s read it’s bad for your heart. So, I read a few articles to try to expand my knowledge and it seems health experts say it’s the saturated fats in the diet that could lead to higher risk of heart disease.

I’m not a doctor, I don’t know what the truth is, and honestly I don’t think anyone knows definitively. But I’d like to know more if anyone can offer any insight into the health benefits and/or downsides of saturated fats in your diet.

(Bob M) #2

I think saturated fat has little to no evidence it is bad for you. There’s a theory it’s actually satiating.

(Tracy) #3

Everyone in my family who is diabetic has had at least one heart attack by the age of 60. None of them live on a low-carb/Keto diet. I’m watching a trend before my eyes and I’m deviating.

(Utility Muffin Research Kitchen) #4

You have two choices.
(1) Pick your nutritional values by throwing darts at a dart board on which you wrote all the theories on nutrition. Low fat, vegan, Ornish, Katz, raw veggies, SAD, 3 apples a day, whatever. They all claim to be the one and only, just like religion. And none of them offers any science. So, they will all be equally good even though they contradict each other like hell. Right?
Or maybe, choose

(2) Pick the one nutritional theory that has actual science behind it, and follow it. Everything you believed to know about nutrition is about to change… https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLPxIHxsNKIZLcPj9YdGO_M43aWNROTxTf

(Bob M) #5

Here’s a set of articles questioning the guidance for saturated fat:

https://www.nutritioncoalition.us/expert-opinion-and-press-reports-questioning-whether-saturated-fats-cause-heart-disease?rq=saturated%20fat

A thoughtful article showing “both sides”: