Strange sensation, body buzzing

(Diana Persson) #1

Hi! I’ve been doing Keto for 6 months and have been pretty successful in maintaining the recommended macronutrient ratio for my goals. I quickly achieved my desired weight loss of 12 pounds and continued on to weight maintainence. However right from the start I’ve experienced quite a strong buzzing or vibrating/tingling feeling throughout my body, most noticeable at night (even throughout the night) and very strong on waking. It comes and goes during the day. Early on, when the twitching in my calf muscles started I commenced Magnesium and Potassium supplements, but both the ‘buzzing’ and the twitches are still very much with me! My head feels clear, energy is good and my blood work is all normal. Does anyone else experience this, and how long should I expect it to continue… should I just get used to it?

About this tingly sensation

Very interesting! I thought I was the only one. I’m curious, are you a super sensitive person? Like if you have a drink you get drunk? Or if you take medicines they affect you very strongly? Because I am. :roll_eyes: I’ll tell you my story.
I started keto about a year ago and would get vibrations just like you. All day, all night, and even more pronounced upon waking, like someone was shaking the bed to wake me up. The higher my ketones, the worse the vibrations. In the last two months they stopped. Now it only happens if I binge on chocolate, because my sugar is probably high.
Here’s my theory, my nerves have finally adjusted or been repaired to the point that they work better now. I have started regular fasting, every third day I fast 24 - 36 hours. The fasting has made a difference in how well my body handles food. I can tell that things are running more smoothly in my system and I have even less body aches. The other day I was squatting on the flour with my 5 year old for like 5 minutes and got up with no knee pain and no effort. It amazed me.