Starting a post-Christmas extended fast today - all welcome to join!

(Lisa ) #1

Merry Christmas all!
Quick recap, I’m a doctor from NZ who has been keto for a fairly long time and as an n=1 experiment I did two week-long fasts last month. The main reason was to be able to recommend this lifestyle from both evidence and personal experience.

Had really good results including mental clarity, improved mood, better sleep, stable blood sugars (I am prone to lows), more energy and weight loss.
I allowed myself to have sugar over Christmas and my body did not like it!! So, time for another fast. This time I’m shooting for 14 days, but will change things up if my body doesn’t like it.

Some other changes:

1. Cutting out the cream and bone broth. Also avoiding sweeteners as they induce cravings. Will keep up a small splash of MCT oil in my coffee.
  2. Drinking more water and salt.
  3. Lower intensity exercise.
  4. More rest! It’s the holidays after all.

I would love to hear from anyone who would like to join or keep me accountable! I will post my ketones, weight loss and measurements for interest.

Lisa :blush:

Finished my last slice of key lime pie (a local specialty) this evening. As planned, my last fast of the year begins now…

I always keep my fasts open ended, so I don’t know how long it will last, but probably into the new year since I don’t have anything planned in the interim. Will likely pause/break it for New Years Day to eat black eyed peas (tradition dictates). So we’ll see…