Starting a (5 day) extended fast tonight...all welcome!

(Lisa ) #1

Hello again!
For those who don’t know me yet, I’m a Kiwi doctor doing a bunch of n=1 experiments and exploring the science of the ketogenic diet and, more specifically, extended fasting.
I have already lost 45kg and my BMI is normal. However, I have been left with an extremely damaged metabolism after years of dieting and currently am on thyroxine. Despite this, I had my resting metabolic rate calculated via a bodpod and it is around 1300kcal. This is not my ball metabolic rate, just what I would burn on a day of rest. Calorie restriction doesn’t work for me, and I exercise at least 1-2 hours a day for enjoyment.

Anyway, extended fasts are really useful to me. Last year I did two 7 day fasts and over the New Year I did 13 days and lost 7kg, felt a heck of a lot better, and dropped cm.

I’ve spent the last week off keto for various parties across the country and am VERY ready to dive back into fasting as I currently feel RUBBISH. Will do 5 days and re-assess. Black coffee, water, bone broth if needed. No dairy.

I’ll update daily as always, and anyone doing any fast feel free to join.

Lisa :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

Do you gain back any of the weight you lose on fasts? If so, how much of what you lost do you gain back, and over what period of time?

(Lisa ) #3

No, if I go back to keto the only weight regain is the food back inside me!

Does that not show up on the scale?

(Lisa ) #5

Well of course, maybe 1kg max but what I mean is that it isn’t a sudden fat gain.

Thanks. Yeah, I was asking about weight gain -back since I didn’t assume all of your weight-loss was fat loss. I was just curious.

When I did my first 90 hour fast about a month ago, by the day after it ended, I was down 9 pounds. Over the course of the following week, I was up 4 pounds. So down a net 5.