Professional Baker/Chef having trouble at work

newbies

(CJ Young) #1

I’ve just started my Keto adventure and I’m about a month in. from 283 I’ve dropped to 268, feel great, and so far everything has been excellent. I am in a plateau but as a woman, I’m really not worried about it from what the Keto Dudes podcast has said that sounds pretty normal. I’ll get worried about it in a month or two.

However, my troubles at work are starting to weigh on me and I’d like some advice or to hear how other bakers/chefs/food service workers deal.

I’m a professional baker which has suddenly become weird/ethically frustrating? I can’t or rather don’t eat anything I bake anymore. My boss is becoming more and more annoyed by this, particularly when I make a roux based soup and ask a coworker to taste for seasoning. I know it sounds like, eh what’s a teaspoon? But I would say that like 10 times a day and all of a sudden I’ve had more then a day’s carbs just tasting stuff. Just seasoning one soup I might taste it 3-5 times and bang 10g carbs.

I can already tell this Keto situation is not going to be a short term change for me. I haven’t felt this good in a decade and based on my family history of diabetes/heart disease/etc there is no way I am not following this diet.

I also feel like by baking and selling bread, cakes, etc I’m sort of doing a public disservice. I mean it’s my trained skill and I’m not making anyone buy bread but it’s still bothering me. That argument that I’m not forcing anyone to buy bread is a cop out and I know it.

Am I being silly? Should I just ignore my coworkers and hold to my values and hope they sort of get over it? I’ve sort of considered the prospect of working in a different kitchen but this is actually a pretty good job. I could try to get out of baking and more into the prep/cooking but…that’s not my strength. I’m the wedding cake person :frowning: