Preparations of Oats

This might be controversial, but I wanted to put this here because it might be helpful for feeding non-keto family members or for anyone that does carb-ups or just eats low but more liberal carb in general. Mind you, I’m no expert on this, but I’ve been reading about it for a while and wanted to share my discoveries.

When I read of people eating raw oats or quick oats, that makes me cringe. Not only is that gross, but it’s also not good for you to eat uncooked oats (I’m sure many of you would argue that oats are not good for you in general, but prepared properly, they aren’t the worst kind of carbs you could be eating). When you ferment oats, they cook quicker, break down some of the starches and phytic acid (the big bad anti-nutrient of the bunch, reduces the absorption of minerals, and it’s especially high in oats) and they take on a lovely flavour.

So, how does one ferment oats? Well, it’s actually quite simple. Mix together 1 cup oats (I use organic steel cut oats and rinse them before using), 2 cups warm water, and optionally you can add 1 tbsp of something acidic (I usually use some coconut flour sourdough starter to kick start it) in your jar of choice, (I use a 2L pickle jar) and instead of screwing the lid on, take a paper towel or kitchen cloth and secure it to the top of the jar with a rubber band or string. Let it sit for 2 days, 4 days, a week, it depends on your flavour preferences, like with sauerkraut or yogurt.