Phase 2: Average dude trying to get from 22% body fat to 15%

(Paul) #1

I’m trying to find some people who have found some techniques to get to a phase 2 fitness level:

• Nutrition
  • Exercise
  • Fasting
  • Other techniques

i know there are forum tags for diabetes, is there a tag for average folks trying to get a little healthier, a little leaner, etc

I’ve been doing keto for 6 months, I’ve lost 25 pounds and 2% body fat (i expected to lose more percent fat, but not complaining), and things are going well, but a few weird things:

• blood ketones have been ranging 0.5 to 0.9, i guess that’s ok, but curious to know what would happen if i can get them higher
  • i expected to lose more body fat percent, i’m not weaker in the gym
  • I’ve seen people drop to 15% body fat, did they do anything different?
  • i already exercise an hour a day (running or lifting), i don’t think i need to ramp that up, but i could

I am willing to be a guinea pig tester on this and try different things, I’m not really in a stall, but some more ideas would be fantastic

Would more exercise be beneficial?

You sound a bit like you might get on well with the Ketogains crowd?

But there are some hardcore exercisers on here too. @ianrobo does epic cycle rides for example.

(Bart) #3

I went from 30% to 9-10% body fat on keto with minimal exercise (mainly due to an Achilles injury from running which sidelined me first then an shoulder injury from a fall which required surgery and sidelined me even longer). I did this with keto and intermittent fasting. I am not a T2D though I would have become one if I did not make a change in my way of eating.