Newbie Keto when breastfeeding

breastfeeding

Hi, I’m a complete newbie to Keto and I’m exclusively breastfeeding my 12 week old baby.

I used a Keto calculator and input my data. It said with a 15% calorie deficit I should be having 1300 calories but because I’m breastfeeding I added a further 500 calories so I should be having 1800 calories a day, does this sound correct? It put my macros at:

Protein 65g
Fat 123g
Carbs 50g

Also, does anyone have any website recommendations for free meal plans for a moderate (50g) Keto diet. I have four children so I need quick and easy meals. Maybe 3 variations of breakfast, lunch and dinner that I can rotate.

How soon should I start to see weight loss? I don’t have masses to lose, maybe 15-20lbs.

Thanks all,

Xxx

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

You are still eating for two, so do not eat at a caloric deficit. Eat to satisfy your hunger.

And most especially, do not fast. Women have died from trying to fast while pregnant or lactating and eating a ketogenic diet. There is a phenomenon called “euglycaemic ketoacidosis” that can occur, and it is potentially fatal. Pregnant or lactating women should not try to fast, for that reason.

The fat loss promoted by a ketogenic diet is not from cutting calories, but from cutting carbohydrate. When we eat a significant amount of carbohydrate, our body produces insulin to remove the glucose (carbohydrate molecules are nothing more than long strings of glucose molecules bound together) from the bloodstream. Some of it is burned in the muscles, the rest is stored as fat. And as long as insulin remains high, that fat is trapped in our fat tissue, and cannot be metabolised. The solution is to eat a very low amount of carbohydrate (or even none at all), so as to keep insulin as low as possible for as much of the day as possible.