Newbie here...it's been 2 weeks on Keto with NO weight lost

(Sharon) #1

The first few days of my diet I cheated! I realize now that sugar free doesn’t necessarily mean it is keto friendly. Now I’ve got my groove on and I am NOT losing weight! I am going back and forth to losing, then gaining all within 3 days time. Lose 1.6 then a day later gain .8 pounds then a day later gain .7. pounds then a day later lose 1.49 pounds over and over again. It is so frustrating!

My foods are keto friendly, such as eggs, bacon, avocado etc., etc. Is there a possibility eating too much calories more than you burn? My diet is about 20 net carbs a day or less. I have a sedentary lifestyle.

If anyone can shed some light on this it will be greatly appreciated by me.

Thank you! :slight_smile:

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

Women often find that it takes a month or so for their hormones to re-regulate themselves, before fat loss begins. Also, cutting calories causes the body to hang on to its fat stores (it’s a famine response). So be sure to eat enough to satisfy your hunger. As you go along, if you have lots of fat to shed, your appetite is likely to drop, and that’s fine, but don’t cut calories intentionally. And eat plenty of fat to replace the energy lost by not eating carbohydrate (however, don’t go overboard, since it takes less than half the amount of fat to yield the same amount of calories).

There are plenty of posts here by people who found that their fat loss didn’t start until they began eating more, not less. The reason is that when we eat enough food, our metabolism speeds up, especially our ability to metabolise fatty acids.

(Sharon) #3

Oh PaulL thank you so much for your reply! I didn’t know it could take up to a month.