New to keto omad

(Ashley) #1

I have no idea where to post this. I am new to keto as of march 23rd 2018. i have lost a total of 11 lbs (had a few cheat days when family was around.) I stopped cheating but still am doing good. I work 10 hours a night on a job that i cant really sit down to eat, also theres no where to store food. I am looking into intermittent fasting. I have done some fasting and keto in the past, but very lazy keto. I would like to do One Meal A Day, due to the fact i dont get breaks etc at work, by the time i get home im very tired due to a decent drive to and from work, i sleep as soon as i get home. i eat around 1200 calories a day due to the fact i am very sedentary ( i cannot exercise much due to vertigo etc) i have a 1400 calorie resting rate so im giving myself a 200 calorie daily deficit. I am having a hard time knowing what to eat, i know i should be about 70g protein and around a bit over 100g fat. i keep under 20 net carbs. problem is i can get in the protein but i think i go over it alot at times, and i dont get enough fat. if anyone knows anything that can help, especially one meal a day with them macros i would love any suggestions, also would like to keep it as cheap as possible as i have two other people in my household to feed that cannot eat keto due to dietary restrictions.

FASTING HELP
(Rob) #2

Welcome to keto!

First, I would investigate the experience of other third/night shifters for more advice about how to handle it in a keto way. Here are a couple - use search to find more.

You don’t need to and shouldn’t focus on a deficit in the early stages of keto. Eat the 1400 calories (or more) and focus on getting into ketosis and fat adapting. A deficit at this stage is more likely to slow the metabolism and slow fat adaptation rather than speed it up or lose more weight. You will probably be able to lower calories naturally and effortlessly once you are able to use body fat instead of food for energy (usually 6-8 weeks).