(Jon) #1

Hello forum

I’m a 35 year old male. Started keto research in August 2018 and started in honest 02.01.19 with the actual transformation. The period in between was restriction and mental preparation.
I work as a medical doctor so I like doing proper preparations - especially since the current dogma is that fat is bad for you - this is however changing rapidly. I also work with a nutritional nurse which is working with morbidly obese - doing a Keto variant.
Keto transformation has been quite simple and all expected results are showing up.

So far i’m down from 236lb to 218lb and my measurements are even better! Waist down from 110cm to 98cm. My IBS is gone ( nothing to ferment ), any signs of acne/folliculitis gone.

So far -I did not count calories until week 4 just to get keto adapted. And just counting the ones I actually ate showed that I had a diet of roughly 1800 cals feeling totally fine.

I’m walking/ running 2 hours per day and my lactic acid tolerance level is slowly getting better ( it was quite bad first 3 weeks).

My day starts 6am with a keto coffee and then I eat when I feel hungry, and always dinner around 4pm. Copious amounts of water. Often drinking broth with salts.
I enjoy wine and focus on quality food and quality living!

Welcome, and all good to hear.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #3

Sounds as though you are doing well. Please keep us posted on your progress. We have a few other physicians as members of this forum, and the professional insights are always helpful. Your patients will be very grateful to have a professional support them in this way of eating. How much do you have to toe some official line? Can you actually advise patients to adopt a low-carbohydrate diet? (I’m thinking of Gary Fettke and Tim Noakes, whose cases had happy endings, but only after a lot of money spent and anguish endured.)

(Jon) #4