My experience with Sweeteners

sweeteners

(David Cumming) #1

Just wanted to share my negative experience with artificial sweeteners. I’ve been doing a keto diet for a couple of months now. Had some ups and downs but I’ve kept it pretty clean for the last few weeks. Based on reading so many sources saying that sweetners don’t impact insulin, I decided to incorporate non-caloric sweetners (no sugar alcohols) into my day to day. Suger free jello, syrup for coffee, bit of diet soda with sucralose, gum. The first day, didn’t notice any change. However, on the second and third day, I noticed increasing appetite and low energy (to the point of being larthargic). Before taking sweeteners, I was running 10K per day - on this second and third day, I couldn’t even go to the gym. No matter how much fat I ate, I could not get sustained energy levels. I would eat some macadamian nuts, feel better for 1 hour, then be starving again and weak.
I’m not diabetic so I don’t have any tools to measure so apologies for not having a more scientific post. However, I can say this - I stopped all sweeteners, and within 24 hours I was back to feeling great and having sustained energy along with a normal keto appetite pattern.
This is pure speculation, but if my insulin was being raised by the sweeteners, that would explain the low energy levels, increased appetite, and the inability to have sustained energy levels eating fat.
I just wanted to post my experience so others can consider whether sweeteners may be having unforeseen effects on their keto efforts as well.

I’m curious if you have tried a similar experiment with the sugar alcohols, like Swerve (a combo of Erythritol and Oligosaccharides) or Xylitol? I did one glucose curve a la Richard’s post using Swerve and I did see a dip at the 90 minute mark of my blood glucose, which might indicate an insulin impact. I’ve been wanting to test it again but haven’t had a good opportunity.