Miss Evening Snacks

Newbie here. Three weeks tomorrow I started low carb counting. Cut out sugar, pasta, bread, rice, cake, etc. No weight loss yet. Energy is up like crazy. I’d like a beginner’s list to follow Keto to make sure what I’m eating is honest. What podcasts should I listen to first?

What I like to eat:
I eat 3-4 half strips of bacon and a handful of green olives for breakfast, 1 coffee with cream. I am a busy designer, so it is easy to slip past lunch time with nothing more than bottled water. I make dinner every night for us 3. Everyone’s favorite meal is baked chicken thighs with skin on, roasted cabbage wedges and mushrooms with butter. I like oven baked brats with some yellow mustard, and roasted Brussels sprouts. I always make extra for meals the following day.

Last night I lost it. I miss evening snacks terribly. I stood in front of the refrigerator, and then decided to take several sips of heavy whipping cream to get over it, and then I ate 2.5 ounces of cream cheese. Am I ruining things–by eating an evening snack?

What I’d really like is some chocolate. Looking for advice on the subject of chocolate.

Thank you for your help.

(LeeAnn Brooks) #2

The occasional extra dark chocolate is okay. 85% or higher is best. Make sure you leave room in your carbs for it as it does have some, but not horrible.

I top with either marscapone flavored with vanilla, cinnamon and a drop of Stevia or a 1/2 tablespoon of unsweetened nut butter.

Evening snacking was hard for me to give up too. If you have an IF eating window, you could put an hour or so after dinner as long as it’s in your eating window and it can feel like your evening snack.

(KetoQ) #3

The whipping cream and cream cheese was a great response to your evening hunger.

I only eat once a day (7-8pm), and often finish my meal with full fat greek yogurt mixed with peanut butter. In a funny way it satisfies my sweet tooth and literally keeps me satisfied until the next day.