MCT oil- What's best?

(Texan ) #1

This may sound very ignorant, here I go anyway.
I am a newbie, 22 days under my belt. I’ve been reading in the forums about MCT oil or powder, are there cheaper quality oils/powders, organic v. non organic? Can anyone help. I wish there was like a KETO bible!

(G. Andrew Duthie) #2

I don’t have any advice to offer in terms of choosing the type of MCT oil, but I would tend towards organic, based on my personal preference.

One thing to be aware of if you have not used MCT oil is that many folks (myself included) find that it can cause lower GI symptoms, particularly in larger amounts. I would start with no more than a tablespoon at first, perhaps a half tablespoon, and see how you tolerate it. If you consume it on a regular basis, you can build up from there, but I would definitely avoid starting with more than a tablespoon.

Both MCT oil and coconut oil give me slight nausea if taken on their own, so I will usually mix them in with coffee or tea.

Last point…MCT oil is a good source of fats that are good for your brain, but it’s not a necessity for keto. Given that you’re only 3 weeks in, may be better to focus on good habits with real foods first. There’ll be plenty of time for body/brain hacking as you get settled into this WoE. :slight_smile:

(Texan ) #3

Thank you Andrew! I do appreciate your input.

(G. Andrew Duthie) #4

My pleasure. I hope I didn’t sound like I was trying to discourage MCT use…I’m just a big believer in keeping things simple, especially in the beginning.

I’m not always the best practitioner of that, but one of the things I picked up from this book:

https://www.amazon.com/Power-Habit-What-Life-Business/dp/081298160X/