Love/Hate relationship with fasting

(Jane Srygley) #1

I’ve been fasting here and there for almost 2 months after I started listening to Dr. Fung. I also bought and read The Obesity Code. I didn’t used to think I could fast, but once I tried it, I knew it was possible and now I truly believe it is something I need to do to achieve my goals for health and fitness.

I LOVE fasting because of the break it gives me from food preparation, but especially from food DECISIONS. When I’m fasting, I know nothing is negotiable and that really helps me. I love fasting for how it makes me feel so clean and clear the next day and I LOVE that I typically see a lower number on the scale the next day even if I indulged a bit the day before the fast.

Still I HATE FASTING!!! I hate not being able to eat all day… and I know that this is more (if not all) emotional rather than physical. Eating is comforting. I know I have issues with food anxiety (one reason I didn’t think I could fast). I feel like fasting just makes me kind of SAD, if that makes sense. I miss having my food! Not sure if anyone can relate…?

(Jill F.) #2

I really struggle to fast much past intermittent fasting and only eating between 12 to 7 PM. I have done a couple of 24 hour fasts but I obsessed about food the last 6 hours or so it. So I stick with IF on most days and just check it up to I am not a good fasting candidate, lol.

(Susan) #3

The problem I was having when I was fasting a lot in July was I was not eating on my eating days. I would do a 48 hour fast; then eat say 500 calories (be very full) then fast for another 48-72 hours… my longest I have done is 74 hours.