Keto Facebook Groups

newbies

(Neece Tinsley) #1

I am on many facebook groups related to keto. I am not a keto newbie but like to encourage newbies. My biggest complaint about FB keto groups is they expect people to read docs which is ok but when you are on several groups it is not user-friendly. Why do people insist on making a facebook group then making a rule about reading their docs, while constantly redirecting people to the docs. Admins turn off comments and overall treat newcomers badly. It is not an encouraging way to teach others about keto.

(Allie) #2

Probably because many the people who have been keto for a long time and took the time to learn and research at the beginning get fed up of the same questions over and over again, that could easily be answered with personal research.

I’m guessing the docs are intended to bring everyone up to at least the same basic level of understanding rather than having to say the same things repeatedly.

(CharleyD) #3

@Shortstuff This base level of understanding or lack thereof is what keeps me away from FB in general although I’m feeling a compulsion to make a Group for close friends/coworkers/fellow martial artists who have shown a serious interest in how I’ve un-deranged my own metabolism.

Think it’s still a good idea? I know the dudes have pay-it-forward as a tenet… but I generally make people’s eyes glaze over when they ask… maybe I should start a Kickstarter for some public speaking classes :sleeping:

(Neece Tinsley) #4

I completely agree with what you are saying about doing your own research. I just think FB is not a good platform for what the group owners are trying to do, particularly when most users are using their phones which makes it harder to navigate between the flow of posts and pinned docs. I hate answering the “what is keto” questions too and only answer them if no one has already.

(Neece Tinsley) #5