In ketosis?

(softail925) #1

So Ive been eating keto for 10 months. I have lost approx’ 14 pounds. I dont keep exact track of my macros, but am very conscientious of them and follow this woe. I have used the keto urine strips and they have shown me in ketosis. But Ive also read after awhile those strips arent accurate for a few reasons. Sooooo, my question is this: How does one know they are still in ketosis? (I have my own thoughts on this, but just want to read urs, as well)

(Mark Bousquet) #2

You want to throw away those Ketostix, they are highly unreliable. Especially after you become fat adapted
and your body starts utilizing the ketones more efficiently.

Personally, I use both the blood test strips and the Ketonix breath acetone analyzer.

Blood ketones (bOHB) over 0.5 mmol/L will indicate you are in nutritional ketosis. These strips are expensive in the U.S. Google “Canadian pharmacy blood ketone strips” or “Australian pharmacy blood ketone strips” to find less expensive strips.

The Ketonix is a reusable breath analyzer that tests for acetone. The maker of this found that the level of acetone is not correlated with blood ketones, however it will give you a ballpark idea of whether or not you are in ketosis or not.

(softail925) #3

Thank you! I am also looking for how to know ur in ketosis w/out any of the tests? (If possible)

the urine strips are an OK tool if you understand how they work. You will always spill ketones into urine. How detectable they are depends on hydration more than anything else. They are also a “lagging indicator” meaning they describe what was going on 4 to 6 hours in the past.

to truly know what is going on you need to test your blood or breath

(Guardian of the bacon) #5

If you are staying within the macro guidelines after 10 months, you are pretty much assured of being in ketosis a good majority of the time.

(softail925) #6

Ok, crap - typo error… I have been eating this way for 10 weeks. (Saw that I typed 10 months)