I love keto, but I turn into a raging carb monster when I cheat just a little bit

(Matt M) #1

Hi guys. First time on the forums, and I need some advice.

I’m a pharmacist by trade, so I know my way around scientific literature and the machinations of my own body, and there is no doubt that keto is the lifestyle for me. I always feel better eating this way, I always have more energy and I love everything about how it affects me (lower BP, higher HDL, less weight, etc.).

Usually, when I make it one week on a keto regimen I’m locked in. Until…something happens. Like, I will go to a relative’s house and convince myself that one spoonful of mashed potatoes is cool. Or that I can have a cookie or something similar because I’ve been doing so well.

And then, like feeding Gizmo after midnight, I turn into an insatiable carb-eating machine. I eat all the carbs with reckless abandon. Candy, ice cream, breads, pasta, rice, all the “comfort foods” I’ve been programmed to love all my life…they take over. And I feel miserable. And I gain weight and get mad at myself. And then I start over, which is difficult.

I’m back in the carb-eating frenzy currently and I am looking to start fresh once and for all tomorrow, because I’m not getting any younger and refuse to allow myself to become sick with metabolic diseases (currently I’m just hypertensive but worry about other things down the road with my eating habits).

My question: What can I do to combat this urge? I know in my mind that I shouldn’t eat bad carbs and as soon as I do I know it’s going to spiral out of control. I desperately want to break this cycle. What do you forum folks do to prevent these lapses? Is there a thread addressing this?

I appreciate your time and insight. It’s such a great way to live and I love being keto but I just can’t stay on the wagon. Hopefully you all can help me stay there. Thank you!

(Ron) #2

How do you feel about pork rinds?:slightly_smiling_face: