How much saturated fat is considered 'safe'

(Tony H) #1

I’m new to keto and like a lot of folks making mistakes early and watching my blood sugar soar. I was originally just aiming to stay below 50g of carbs per day but now have decided it’s still too much so need more fat. All the recipes on dietdoctor are sky high in saturated. How many grams of saturated fat are you long termers eating per day and are your bloods looking good? Feels a silly question cus if they wasnt Im assuming you wouldnt be here I guess :joy: Ive not yet tasted a bulletproof coffee as it contains about 26g of saturated fat for breakfast which just freaks me out when Ive spent the last couple years working with a nutritionist telling me to keep it below 23g a day. Altho she was happy with my keto choice and pushed me towards it but told me to watch my saturated fat intake still.

There’s nothing unhealthy about saturated fat, that’s left over make believe from the 90’s. You’re good. The only “unhealthy” fat is man made trans fats (partially hydrogenated), and those almost don’t exist anymore.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #3

Okay, let’s think about this for a bit.

The purpose of a low-carb, high-fat ketogenic diet is to lower insulin. There are three macronutrients: carbohydrate (glucose), protein (amino acids), and fat (fatty acids). The first of these has a large effect in stimulating insulin secretion, because too much glucose in the blood stream can be dangerous and possibly even deadly. So insulin mobilises to get it out of the blood. It goes into muscle to be burned and into fat tissue to be converted into fatty acids and stored.