How much protein should be consumed in keto diet

Hi People,

I am new to this keto diet and I wanted to know if there’s limit to the protein consumption. I’ve gone through some studies and they say tythe excess protein is converted in starch, it also accounts for several other problems. Please let me know if these facts are true or not. If there’s such limit to the protein intake, can you please tell me how to calculate the amount of protein an individual should consume during the keto diet.

Thanks,
S

(Jack Bennett) #2

1 gram per pound of target body weight is pretty common as a recommendation. More if you’re working out hard or bodybuilding.

I’'ll second what @ajbennett said, 1g/lb of bodyweight is standard for people wanting to maintain or gain muscle mass. It’s a good starting point for most people unless you’re obese, in that case you’ll want to try to estimate your muscle mass and go by that, but for most, it’s a good starting point.

Fact’s are always true, that’s why they’re facts. But what you’re referring to is not. You’re referencing gluconeogenesis, which is a real process our bodies do which is the conversion of fatty acids to glucose for energy.

Many people use this process as a reason to be afraid of protein, thinking that if they ate protein in excess it’d be like eating candy. WRONG! Gluconeogenesis is demand driven, not supply driven. There is no reason to fear protein when eating keto.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #4

Recommendations run from 1.0-2.0 grams per kilogram of lean body mass, and even higher. I just watched a video by an Australian sports physician, Dr. Paul Mason, whose feeling is that too much protein is not a problem.