Hello from Norwegian happy fat-man

conversationstarters
fasting

(Hallgeir Olsen) #1

Hello, my name is Hallgeir

I am a 51 year old man from Norway, a big fat guy (345 lbs when I started keto November 27 2017). I’m married and have three grown-up children. I live on the west coast of Norway.

About five years ago I lost 66lbs and were on a good roll (calorie restriction and lifting heavy weights), in recent years I have put 80lbs back on again. I fell on the ice and broke my back (in 4 places), could not move for 6 months. Blood pressure became dangerously high, and I am currently on medicine for hypertension.

I’ve tried to lose the weight many times after the fall, but this is my first time on keto.

After one month on keto I’ve lost 26 lbs and shrunk 23 inches (belly, hips, chest, neck, thigh and leg).

I have started experimenting with fasting, 24h and up to 44h fasts, no problems. Yesterday I started my first 58h fast.

I drop out of ketosis very easy, or so my ketostix tell me. A little too high protein intake and I’m out and it will take me 4-5 days to get back in again.

My dog, Lucas, helps me get out for walks. I’ve increased the length of our hikes quite a bit lately, to around 8 kilometers (remember, I’m a heavy guy so this is hard for me).

Listening to the podcast and reading this forum is a great source and help in my progress.

Just wanted to introduce myself :slight_smile:

(Dan Dan) #2

Hello :smiley:

“May the Force (fat adaption) be with you”

IF/EF Keto WOE is Self-Discovery :wink:

Good luck and much success in your journey in IF/EF Keto WOE :grin:

(Marie Dantoni) #3

Welcome to our community.

(Karen) #4

Happy to have you here! Good luck on your journey and with your continuing recovery.

K

(KetoCowboy) #5

Welcome, congratulations, & good luck.

(Frank) #6

Hi Hallgeir,

Impressive loss, I would be very happy with that loss!