Glucose and Ketones after exercise

(Allison B) #1

Can anyone explain the science behind a rise in BG and also Ketones following a workout? I have recently added fasting workouts. My BG shoots up to between 120-130 and my ketones also rise, immediatly following my workout. I’ve been doing keto for 7 months

Ketone levels after my run
Blood measurements question
(Ethan) #2

my BG also goes up to 110-120 during a working, but ketone drop like a rock.

(Allie) #3

My ketones drop too, as they’re used as fuel for my workout

(Allison B) #4

Do you all workout in a fasted state?

(Ethan) #5

I work out in all kinds of states, including fasted and having just eaten.

(Allie) #6

I don’t normally.

(ianrobo) #7

I can understand BG rising and this ties in with the FASTER study as well but Ketones, no that seems very strange to me.

(Allison B) #8

Well this is something I found that explains my ketones rising after a workout.

Exercise has long been known to increase ketone production, even in people without diabetes. Increases in fat mobilization and increased blood flow to the liver during exercise promotes increased fat uptake to the liver and the conversion of fat first to acetyl-CoA and then to the ketone body acetoacetate. Acetoacetate can then convert to the two other ketone bodies – acetone and beta-hydroxybutyrate. These ketone bodies then leave the liver and can be used by muscle as energy.

(ianrobo) #9

I used to measure BG and Ketones before and after exercise by blood and never saw Ketones rise, actually the opposite. In fact the well adapted fat athlete should in fact have naturally very low levels.

(Allie) #10

Mine are always their lowest after exercise, right down to 0.1 sometimes

(ianrobo) #11

When testing and after anything above an hour I saw zero which means I was using them as produced then, that’s perfect. I would argue if you are seeing high levels you are not efficient in using them

(Duncan Kerridge) #12