First Post - Struggling with < 20g carbs - New to Keto - Is what I am eating right?

Hello everyone,

This is my first post newbie here. I am 34, type 2 diabetic. My diabetes has been diet controlled for some time but I had to stop running and am now back on Metformin. I am 101kg down from 135kg. I decided to give Keto a go and am finding it hard to stay under 20g of carbs. test strips show that I am in Keto but I have no idea if I am doing this right. I feel like I am flying blind. Any advice from you kind people would be much appreciated.

This was todays food:

Breakfast:
Bulletproof coffee

Lunch:
tuna omlet
soft full fat cheese (tbsp)

Dinner
Chicken breast pan fried
half advercado
20g sun-dried tomatoes

Snacks
Sback kolbasz, csemege (pepperoni)

Water: 2.5l

Totals:
Fat 151g
Protine149g
Carbs 19g
2009 Calories

(Jennifer ) #2

Tomatoes would be an easy thing to substitute for if you want to keep carbs down. Especially sun-dried.

(Ethan) #3

Doesn’t look terrible. I would ditch the tomatoes though, as they are sugary. I’m not a fan of chicken breast, since that is usually very high protein, but not fat. I think some leafy greens would work nicely, too.

(Randy) #4

If you still have weight to lose, I’d ditch the bulletproof coffee. It’s a lot of fat calories to burn.

As for T2D, keeping your insulin low is the key to reversal, so intermittent fasting and limiting snacks are very powerful tools.

You don’t have get there 100% right away, but try to work toward 2 meals a day, or one large meal a day with limited snacks.

Thanks is the fat not a good thing on keto. I did think coffee might be a bad idea but so many mixed views.

(Jean Taylor) #6