First extended fast- hella confused

Hi everyone,
I started Keto in January after finding through much frustration that I can only lose weight through lowering carbohydrates. As a registered nurse I am also SO compelled by the science that drives this movement.
I have been soo encouraged by the surge in my energy, especially the fact that I had been finding that previously I experienced extreme grogginess in the mornings (since childhood), I suddenly can wake without any trouble since starting Keto- amazing.
I have been eating up the two Keto dudes podcasts and forums and this is my (ahem) very first post!!
I have 20 pounds to lose, which I have read can be more stubborn to lose, and have been hovering around my loss since I started Keto. This is where I’m looking for advice. I’ve contemplated getting rid of dairy but don’t feel ready to restrict my food choices that much more yet, and I’ve been really intrigued by the concept of fasting, especially since I carry my weight in my abdomen. As I’ve read extended fasts can be particularly good for helping accelerate weight loss due to insulin resistance. I’ve never tested my insulin, but have always been sensitive to blood sugar spikes and experienced sugar cravings.
So here I am, day one of hopefully a 4 day fat only fast. I decided to allow myself tea and coffee, butter and MCT oil. I honestly have not been able to come to a conclusion of whether or not this is a good fast idea or a bad fast idea based on the forums. My goal is fat loss, and while I could do a water only fast I worry about the impact that will have on my ability to perform at work.
Also, is this a futile endeavour? Will I just gain back any weight I lose? Or can I truly create a new “set point” by fasting here and there?
Thanks in advance for any tips or feedback!

(Roy D) #2

Juke, welcome to the world of keto! :slight_smile:

Although a newbie, sounds like you are making progress if you are losing weight and gaining more energy.