Fasting -Formerly Easy- is More Difficult Lately; Ideas?

(hottie turned hag) #1

Background:
55y/o postmenopausal small framed pretty sedentary (only exercise is walking wee dog ~2h/day) lady, keto since Aug 2017, great success both weight loss (am now 116lb) and other benefits galore. Dropped cheese and veg past few (2-ish?) months to break stall (was 122) and get to goal (110). Feel fantastic.

I’ve been eating once/24h for close to two years now and have gone 48h many, many times and 72h maybe…10? times EASY AS PIE -erm, I mean bacon :bacon:- until NOW :expressionless:

My appetite since dropping the cheese and veg was at first lowered even more than usual (wasn’t getting hungry until around hour 28); however the past maybe 10 days or so it is increasing again (no increased exercise nor other factors) to where by hour 24 I am very ready to eat and have been unable to go to 48h. I mean, not really “unable” but unable to do so easily and comfortably (no cravings, no ravenous hunger) as formerly.

I’m eating aplenty; yesterday I had: a steak, two hotdogs and almost an entire 8oz stick pepperoni. I’ve never counted cals nor macros.

Ideas from experienced fasting folk?

(Carl Keller) #2

It’s not unusual for our hunger to go on vacation when we are fat adapted. But after a while, it’s our body’s natural response to increase hunger to stop what it sees as an endless spiral toward total fat depletion. That does not mean it’s the end of our weight loss road. I believe it just becomes more important to address those hunger signals the correct way.