Dry fasting for Yom Kippur- wish me luck!

(April Harkness) #1

I am omad. I am tough. I am a pro at this! Or perhaps not. I have never dry fasted. Will have dinner tonight and then my dry fast begins. I am dry fasting with my bf for this holiday. It will be interesting to see how I, a daily reader holds up compared to my bf and his fellow Jewish friends and family who do not fast regularly. Will dry fasting be the great equalizer? Will I be as miserable or has omad prepared me. Or does nothing prepare u for a dry fast?

(Bob M) #2

I’ll be interested to hear your details.

I cannot dry fast, as I have to take medication (three different times per day). But I’ve always wanted to try it. It’s supposedly much “faster” than regular fasting.

(Jane) #3

Looking forward to your updates!

For how long will you be dry fasting and is the “dry” part of fasting also part of the holiday observance or have they always dry fasted?

(Susan) #4

What does this mean, exactly, Bob? I understand you not being able to do it because of medications. Is it something we should all try if we can?

(Susan) #5

Take care, April, I hope that this goes well for you. Best wishes =).

(Joey) #6

Have “dry fasted” (no solids, no liquids) for 24 hours during Yom Kippur for many decades. When living on carbs, not so easy. But do’able. Sure makes you want to atone for something. :wink:

(April Harkness) #7

My bf will definately be atoning for his indiscretion in June. That is FOR SURE. Being carnivore has surprisingly made me more calm. Unlike an angry vegan, I can forgive.Plus my bf participated in Tashlich (sorry if I am spelling it wrong) ceremony. Where he cast his sins into the lake. One of them was the sin that almost made me break it off with him. So…thank Yahweh our little argument happened around this time. It made me reflect and forgive! And now I will celebrate Yom Kippur!

(Bob M) #8