Does my intermittent fasting plan make sense?

(Rob) #1

Hi guys,

I’ve been doing well on Keto since September 2017 and I’m about half way to my goal of losing 15 kilos (I’m 73 Kg now, age 48 and 5’5"). I’m fat adapted and can quite comfortably go without food for 23 hours. I do feel I am little stalled at the moment and after reading Jason Fung’s & Jimmy Moore’s Complete Guide To Fasting, I want to go a bit further into fasting to get better Autophagy and get things switched up a little to break the stall.

Based around family and work constraints my proposed plan (at least for a couple of weeks) is outlined below. The green blocks are where I plan to fast, and the yellow/orange blocks are optional times for fasting. The red blocks are fixed as far as eating food are concerned.

I would find the red marked blocks harder to use for fasting given that they are fixed times when I have to eat with my family. I work away for a lot of the week and so fasting is easier then. My wife is not keen on fasting and feels that it is bad for me (I feel the opposite from what i have learned, but that is a battle for another time), so it’s pretty much something I am doing in isolation. I guess she will figure it out at some point due to all the bone broth I’m making, but hey.

I already supplement with Sodium, K2, B5, D3, Magnesium, Potassium, Zinc and Calcium. I increase Sodium while fasting.

What I would like to you from the more experienced fasting members of the forum is whether the plan makes sense when mixing 18 hour, 24 hour and 36 hour fasting periods rather than say a strict 24 hour or 36 hour intermittent fasting regime as outlined in the book? Are the re-feeding periods too long, or should I be aiming for more fasting periods?

I’m headed in the same direction - significant change ups with at least a 36hour Fast for the autophagy peak.

For myself, i’m Sticking to one meal a day.

Looks good!

(Rob) #3

Started the 24h fast last night.