Do calories matter?

I guess this has been asked before but here I go. I’m a 66yo male. I’ve been doing keto for about 3-1/2 months. I have lost about 15lbs from 245 to 230 but am stalled there.
I feel I do quite well about not eating high carb foods or sugar but I do eat a lot. I have seen videos saying just eat till your full & don’t worry about calories.
I have not been eating before noon but I have a tendency to snack after dinner. I mostly snack on pork rinds, cheese, or celery & cheese spread.

All things CICO - back from the dead thread
(*Tame Those Ghrelin Gremlins) #2

Hello! I know you haven’t posted too much information about your meals so I will keep it simple, why are you snacking? If you’re eating a lot at meals you should be able to make it from one meal to the next without snacking.

The longer you can go between meals the better because this is when your insulin is low. Calories aren’t too big a worry but are you staying under 20 carbs a day? Personally for me I will eat more protein if I’m feeling more hungry then usual. (this fills me up more then fat)

Also it would help more to know exactly what a typical day of eating is like for you.

(Consensus is Politics) #3

The total number of calories mean less than the kind of calories.

Take two identical people. Their recomended caloric intake should be, lets say 2,000 calories.

One eates a high carb diet, the other its a low carb Keto diet. Now, lets Increase their calories to 2500. The general consensus in medicine and the ohysical fitness world is that both people will gain extra weight. But what actually happens is only the carb burner gains weight on that. The ketonian doesnt. His BMR can asjust to that, and just burn more energy using the extra calories since it has them. A carb burner doesnt. That extra just gets stored as fat.