Christmas strategy

(David Cooke) #1

Hi, I am still a relative newbie after 8 weeks and I am happy with the results. I am keeping my carbs below 30, which seems to work for me, and have reached a comfortable plateau as far as weight loss is concerned, started running at the age of 70 to see how I’m getting on, better all the time.
SO although I won’t be actively seeking out carbs, I am planning on forgetting about Keto apart from no rice or bread and will be drinking low carb beers no doubt.
I may regret this.
What should I do after the orgy is finished? I fancy doing a 24 hour fast to get back on track, is that a good idea? Seems like an appropriate punishment.
Or should I just go back to a very strict Keto diet, relaxing back into what I was doing before over a period of a week or so?
Thanks

Hi David,

I’ve been thinking the same thing. I’m not really sure how best to go about the Christmas indulging either.
I’ll be interested in what people say, who’ve already done the Christmas thing!

(Alex ) #3

This year, I have actually told the family I am going to spend 2 days with friends, rather than get involved with all of the family indulgences. I have worked pretty hard this year on my weight, fitness and abstaining from alcohol, and I have a weight goal which is pretty close (still about 14 pounds to go) - I’m just not comfortable going through 3-4 days of the excess, and then feeling miserable about about it afterwards, and having carb and booze hangovers.

However, what I’m actually doing, is booking into a hotel that has a gym - and spending 2 days pampering, relaxing without any distractions.

Possibly a bit Grinch, but I don’t care.

I think a lot of pressure is put upon us during December to drink and eat to excess, let alone the financial pressure of unnecessary gifting. I’ve tried to make a stand against this in my family over the last few years, but I always get ignored, so this year, I’m doing what I said I would.