Can you be in Ketosis but still not eating enough fat?

(Keith Bronsdon) #1

Guess what I mean is I’ve been doing keto for a few months and nothing seems to really change. I’ve been trying to figure out what to do, and have been wondering if I’m not eating enough fat since I’ve been reducing my calories to be in a deficit. Been feeling depressed about not seeing any changes and finding it hard to continue. Lately been eating more protein (really caring less about portions) and not tracking macros like I used to. I’ve never seen big weight changes since starting, and I’ve always been in ketosis (breath meter). My “norm” seems to be about 3.3 first thing in the morning. The past few days I’ve tried to add a bit of fasting, at least in that I don’t eat until lunch at about 1pm. I eat dinner late usually, 8:30-9pm, up at 6am and have coffee. I have cream with it, so not exactly 100% fasting. I often run in the morning (can’t go to gym since closed during pandemic) for 30 minutes. Lunch is usually a salad with fatty chicken thigh meat and cheese about 500-600 calories. Really I get a lot of fat from cheese–if I need a snack late in the day, I often eat cheese.