Black coffee on carnivore diet

newbies
food

(Jon H ) #1

Hello I am new to the carnivore diet and found conflicting information on black coffee without the sugar and cream. Is it bad for you? I have mental health issues such as major depressive disorder, mood problems, and was wondering if coffee will affect my progress in those areas?

Hello Jon. Welcome to the chat.

A low carb ketogenic diet has been shown to help with mental health stabilisation. So eating a low carb carnivore diet with enough fat in the mix, either dietary or metabolic access to stored body fat, will help improve things. To get metabolic access to stored body fat a hormone in the body called insulin has to be kept at low levels.

Black coffee without sugar or cream is a correct way to take coffee for a ketogenic diet. The amount (the dose) of black coffee per day would be an important thing to know.

If a person takes many cups of coffee in a day, let’s say more than two, then the chemicals in the coffee can have effects in the body that may result in increased insulin release and the shutting off of ketone production. That would mean not reaching your goals.

If the goal is to get improvement in mental health disorders, then it is worthwhile monitoring some basic things with home tests to see what happens in your individual situation.

Monitoring blood ketone production by using a finger prick blood test is one method. If you are eating in a carnivore way of eating and the blood test shows that you are producing blood ketones for mental health improvement and you are drinking black coffee, then, for you it is all going OK.

The very, very start off point is to eat in a carnivore way of eating, drink the coffee that you need, and see how you feel each day. If there are not improvements, then something needs a tweak, and it might mean reducing coffee intake, or helping your body get into metabolic ketosis some other way.

(KM) #3