Another Keto Success (40+ male, busy professional with heavy travel)

(William Marshall) #1

My name is William Marshall, I am a lawyer living in Hong Kong for the past 10 yearsand I have lost over 190 pounds on a ketogenic diet. I have reduced my body fat from well above 40% to under 15%. I am not selling anything I am simply moved to share my story and what worked for me on my journey with as many as possible. I was a guy who no one (including myself) ever thought would lose weight or get fit. Through information shared by other keto people, I have changed my whole life. I think others can beat obesity and health problems if they just have access to information or become aware of the mounting weight of scientific evidence that keto is effective and safe and perfectly accessible as a long term way of eating.

As a busy professional, whose job demands heavy international travel around Asia and the rest of the world, I may have some unique experiences and insights that may help others that feel this kind of lifestyle is holding them back.

A bit more about my journey

I was over 400 pounds and very uncomfortable. I wasn’t officially diagnosed with anything but purely because I avoided the doctor and not because I was in good health. I know I had high blood pressure as every time it was tested it was high, but I never had the requisite repeat tests to be officially diagnosed and medicated. I feel certain I was diabetic based on family history and wildly erratic blood sugar issues but never diagnosed or medicated.

I started to lose weight on a basic calories-in-calories-out method in August 2015 but this quickly morphed into the “beer diet” as I traded calories at lunch for example in order to go to the pub. Hahahah ugh. Needless to say, this was not sustainable. I lost quite a bit of weight (about 50 pounds) until the holiday time and then stopped the beer diet and any diet at all.