Another Keto Newbie Here!

(Jimmy Lock) #1

Hi guys,

I’m about 100 pounds over weight and need to get rid of the flab for obvious reasons (fat not good!)

I met a guy today while out doing errands and he said he had lost over 200 pounds doing keto (I forgot to ask him how long it took), but within a few minutes of talking to this guy it kinda clicked in me that I need to look in to this.

The thing I like that he mentioned was it was an organized approach to changing what I would be eating along with some exercise thrown in too.

So, if anybody knows of any good “Get Started” articles so I can start planning on changing what I eat to begin following the keto diet, I’d greatly appreciate it!

(Jane) #2

An old thread but still relavent:

(Jane) #3

Ok and welcome!

(Richard M) #4

To add to Janie
Start being a student to this Way Of Eating. Go through your “food closet” and wherever else you have food and get rid of all junk (high in carbs) food. And don’t do too much to soon, ease into this WOE slowly. Everyone is different. Your body will be going through a lot of changes so be prepared.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #5

The organisation required is to lower your carb intake. Eliminate sugar, starches, and grains completely from your diet, and eat only things that grow above ground. Leafy greens and cruciferous vegetables work well. Be careful with nuts, seeds, and fruits. Some are keto-safe, while others (such as bananas) are far too sugary to work on a ketogenic diet. Get a good amount of protein and the fat it comes with. Perhaps even a bit of extra fat, to provide the energy you’re no longer getting from carbs. Eat to satisfy your hunger. That’s it.