Am I Fasting Too Much?

I think that I may have taken this fasting thing a little too far. Let me know what you think.

I’ve been doing IF 18/6 - 16/8 for over two years now. I also started going OMAD two days a week since the beginning of the year with an odd EF of 48 hours to 6 days here and there. I don’t snack, I eat all of my food during a meal.

I was going to conduct a test on myself by breaking IF, or at least changing it to 12/12. I was thinking of either a protein shake w/MCT or high fat cottage cheese w/macadamia as a first meal to see if that would help me break a plateau.

Before I did that, I thought that I should allow for some adjustment. For the past two weeks I told myself that I would eat TMAD, and if I felt a hunger pang, that I would snack with hard cheddar cheese & macadamia as the snack of choice.

Well, I started to gain weight. I’m 5 lbs heavier then usual (usually 245lbs +/- 2lbs). I have a body impedance scale which seems to indicate that the weight gain is more fat then lean tissue. Although I find that I can lift heavier things during strength training sessions (3-4x/week) the likely result is that I slowed down my metabolism and now I’m gaining weight as a result of eating more food. Would you agree with this assessment?

I’ll also point out that I might get hunger pangs outside my eating window, but hunger since I’ve started IF has become more of a suggestion rather than feeling hangry if I don’t eat something right away.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #2

I don’t know much about body impedance scales, but what I’ve read on these forums suggests that they aren’t particularly accurate. Have you had a DEXA scan? Also, how are your clothes fitting? If they still fit fine, there’s a possibility that you added lean mass (skeletal muscle, increased bone density, that sort of thing). On the other hand, if your clothes are fitting tighter, then your scale is probably right, it’s fat.

(Robin) #3