Yummy....my new potato and onion substitute

food

(Deb) #1

Hope the pics pop up. I’m no pro at this computer stuff.

So potatoes and onions. Yum. This is daikon radish and leeks. Fried/Sautéed in avacado oil. I suggest frying up the leeks first. I cut one large leek(white/ light green part only) into thin strips…learned this at @Carl and @Richard’ s Mini Ketofest here in Connecticut. :yum:

Remove the leeks and set aside and DON’T taste them… you won’t be able to stop and you’ll have to cook more! :stuck_out_tongue_closed_eyes:

Cut your daikon radish in cubes or however you usually cut a potato and fry/sautée in the same pan and some salt and/ or pepper to taste. Let them brown nicely and fork them for doness to your liking. Add back the leeks and serve alongside whatever you are eating…eggs for breakfast, steak, poultry, ham, bacon… you get the idea.

The leeks taste so good, kind of like those canned fried onions that have carbs and junk in them. The radish loses it’s peppery bite and the texture can be how you like…soft for me but not falling apart. It’s not a potato because it’s not a potato but I think it makes a better substitute than cauliflower. Seems to take on the flavor of what you season or pair it with. Last week I tried the daikon mashed. The taste was great but it was a little soupy. I added some glucomannon
( Konjac Root Powder) but I’m still playing with the consistency.

Enjoy!!

Jicama and celeriac next!

(Candy Lind) #2

I like roasted red radishes and was kind of hoping daikon would sub well, as well, since one of the vendors at my Farmer’s Market sells daikon at a very reasonable price. I’m going to have to try the leeks, for sure.

Hi Deb! That looks Sooooo good! Where do you find daikon?

(Deb) #4