Will eating carbs help not get as drunk or hungover?

Just wondering if anybody knows if you can eat carbs before hand so you won’t get drunk as quickly. I don’t mind getting kicked out of ketosis every once in a while.

(Empress of the Unexpected) #2

If you are new, and getting kicked out of ketosis periodically, you will have a hard time getting fat adapted. Trust me, I learned the hard way.

I’ve been eating keto for 8 months and feel great. I’m hypoglocemic and it keeps my blood sugar stable throughout the day. It’s a good way to eat. I’ve also had some drinks on only a couple of occasions and got drunk real quick and really hungover. So I am fat adapted, but just wondering if eating carbs for a day or even just one meal will help for a night of drinking so as not to get drunk so quickly.

(Mike W.) #4

Maybe just drink less?

I know drinking less would work but that’s not what I’m asking. Drinking less would literally be 2 drinks only then.

(TJ Borden) #6

Pace yourself better, and stay hydrated. The hangover is just dehydration, which is amplified on keto because you don’t retain as much water.

You would think that carbs would help too though.

(TJ Borden) #8

I’ve never found that to be the case. Even pre-keto, I figured out that to prep for a solid day at a beer fest, a breakfast of bacon and eggs was the best base. My friends that would have a stack of pancakes would be sick or tap out long before I would.

(Chris W) #9

If you think about it beer has a whole lot of carbs in it already, liquid bread!

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #10

You might possibly get some protection from having fat in your stomach while drinking. It might possibly slow down the absorption of the alcohol. I couldn’t speak from experience, however, having gotten sober many years before going keto.