What the!? Onions

food

I’m a bit of a beginner, did about 6m Keto a few years back but was never too fussed about doing it right. I ate meat, eggs, cheese and veg plus added oil or fat. I assumed veg was veg. I obviously avoided the starchy seeming root veg like carrot and potato and sweet potato plus peas and corn as sweet but ate the rest. I felt great and lost like 15kg (I’m not huge to start with but I’m not a thin thing either).

Now after my mess ups with not realising milk is full of sugar and not being able to work out a net carb I thought I better be a bit more mindful.

Well the shock when I looked up carbs in onions. I seriously thought it would just be water and like cellulose haha. so wrong. I will have to get used to food without onion pretty quick.

It’s so annoying as onion is on all those lists of like ‘your Keto shopping list’ on Pinterest which I thought was a good simple place to start but how can all of those lists have it so wrong? An onion is like 8g carbs right? That’s not feasible to eat.

Any other red herrings and common foods hailed as Keto when they simply aren’t?

I always ate onions on keto (along with carrots and peas, there were essential in my soups), it was among the 2 vegs I didn’t stop to eat when I went to carnivore-ish :slight_smile: No problem with the carb content at all. Of course, I don’t eat it like in my childhood but almost no one uses onions in that big amount :smiley: My scrambled eggs were more like eggy fried onions :slight_smile:

Onion is very, very flavorful, a tiny bit goes a long way! It’s very, very sweet too, for me and now so I almost never touch it as I dislike sugar in my savory dishes.

Did you look up garlic? That’s even carbier. And people use even less of it so no problem.

I drink as much milk as I wish too as I don’t care about animal carbs, they don’t seem to matter to me, just like the not net carbs :wink: