What are the facts on flax?

(Nathan Bailey) #1

I’m a newbie into the second week of my new ketogenic lifestyle and am still trying to nail down a meal plan that provides all the nutritional requirements.

One aspect that I was concerned about was a shortage of fiber in my diet as previously I was eating 30g a day or more…mainly from homemade whole wheat bread.

I thought my fiber filled days were over until I found the “muffin in a minute” on a variety of low carb recipe sites. I had found the answer…until I got curious about what the amount of flax meal I was eating daily was doing to my nutrition.

My google search led me to a pile of contradictions. From it being a super food to it should be avoided at all costs. What really caught my eye was the information about its effect on testosterone and how it mimics estrogen. With some saying it is a weak estrogen that blocks receptors resulting in less estrogen uptake. And others saying it causes a higher level of estrogen while reducing testosterone.

As a male entering middle age who wants to keep what little hair I have left and get rid of the “man boobs” covering what used to be pecs; I would like to keep my testosterone estrogen ratio in a normal range.

Can anyone clear the air on this subject and point to a peer reviewed study that looks at flax consumption while on a high fat, moderate protein, low carb diet? Particularly its effect on testosterone and estrogen.

Thanks,
Nat

(Lisandra Mathews) #2

Ive avoided flax and chia seeds since I came across Maria Emmerich’s article about avoiding flax. She makes a good case and she also provides links to her sources- that may get help you dig deeper.

Following…

(jketoscribe) #5