Vegetable Oils and Shortening

food

(G V) #1

Hello everyone
I just join this forum and I would like to share my experience after I stopped consuming vegetable oils and it’s derivatives ( Crisco, fast foods, junk foods, bread, ). Inflammation and joint pains went away within two weeks, cognitive capabilities are amazing I feel so clear minded. Lost a lot of fat around my waist and throughout my whole body.
I’ve been doing the OMAD for about 3 months using pig lard of grass fed organic butter to prepare my one meal which include protein eggs and sometimes I include half of avocado.
What is your take in vegetable oils and shortening?

(UsedToBeT2D) #2

Poison.

(Polly) #3

Never touch them. Pah!!

(UsedToBeT2D) #4

Congrats. Welcome to better health.

(Allie) #5

Avoid at all costs.

They are in my very distant past - except at a relative where a tiny bit is hard to avoid but as I was pretty healthy when I ate them galore, my body is happy to handle this minuscule amount now and then and zero on most days. These are items I am just sure bad for me (and margarine tastes awful, no idea how people can handle it though some of them are less horrible than others but still quite bad even taste wise. Once I saw sandwiches, some great ham on a plain white shop bread with margarine… I was on low-carb since ages too… I pitied poor ham and a bit myself as well), my body complains about zillion other items.

It’s another thing I use almost zero lard and butter too, I have my reason for it but they are my chosen added fats I cook with (and coconut oil when it’s not only my own food, my SO dislikes lard. I barely use butter, it’s very expensive and I prefer the taste of lard except if it’s a dessert or a possible dessert. I make neutral pancakes with possibilities) and I am very pleased with them, especially lard that I get from a nearby pig farm I trust. Not all lard are the same, I am choosy.

(Bacon is a many-splendoured thing) #7

(Bacon for the Win) #8

The Hateful Eight