Vacation without Keto

(Meghan O'leary) #1

Hey I thought I would post my very own non scientific N=1 study.

I went to Thailand for the whole month of January. Instead of trying to maintain my Keto way of eating, I chose to eat all manners of fresh fruit, rice, curries and even just sweets. I didn’t hold back and ate much like I had been used to before I found Keto. I had been eating LCHF for 5 months prior and had lost 25 pounds before this trip, weighing in at 208lbs. When I got back (30 days later) the scale had crept up to 216lbs and after returning to high fat for 3 days Im down to 212.

Im not sure what type of conclusions to draw but here are some possibilities

1. I’m capable of gaining 8lbs (water/fat/both?) in a single month alone when eating carbs without restriction
  2. At least four of those pounds are obviously water weight because they came off so quickly
  3. Keto works wonders for me.
  4. The damage of eating no carbs isn’t undoable for me.

(Ken) #2

Depending on how big you are, eight pounds was mostly, if not all, glycogen. Sounds like you didn’t stuff yourself, so you probably didn’t experience much, if any, overcompensation leading to fat regain. No significant lipogenic readaptation. I’ll reiterate something that I’ve said before: “It’s really kind of hard to regain fat without a chronic, Carb based pattern”.

(Meghan O'leary) #3

Well I’m never going back to chronic carb based eating again and I felt like I stuffed myself the whole time but I’m stoked I don’t have to re-lose the weight I’ve already lost once.

(Dawn) #4