Type 1 diabetic with PCOS and no weight loss

newbies

(Lindsay Schmitt) #1

I have been doing keto for two months. The first week I lost eight pounds, but after that, I’ve not lost anything. My carbs are at 25/daily, 112g protein, and 141g fat (I got these from ketodietapp.com so that I had a place to start) and track anything and everything I eat. I exercise every day and am at a complete loss. My legs were swelling, so I incorporated potassium supplements into my diet, along with electrolytes, and that helped alleviate that, but I’m still stuck. I have a LOT of weight to lose (I’m 5’8" and weigh 275). Also, being a type 1 diabetic with PCOS, I know that will slow things down, but I should be seeing something! I do check for ketones and am currently burning a moderate amount. Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

That’s going to be mostly water weight from glycogen depletion and less inflammation.

112 g of protein sounds kind of high unless you have a very high muscle mass. I’d try going to 1g/kg lean body weight and see if that makes a difference. So if you are maybe at 35% bodyfat, that would work out to 80g protein/day. Also, don’t think of the fat macro as a requirement. If you’re not hungry, stop eating.

You are insulin dependant? Or did you mean type-2 diabetic?

What are you using to check for ketones?

(Lindsay Schmitt) #3

I am type 1 (insulin dependent) and am on an insulin pump. I have been able to significantly lower my insulin basal rate, and account for protein when I bolus. I currently use ketosticks to account for ketones, which I know there is an actual monitor that you can use to do a blood check, but I’ve not yet bought one of these. I will take your advice on the protein. I thought it seemed a bit high, but wasn’t sure. By the way, I’ve checked with my endocrinologist and she okayed my using this diet to lose weight.