To much protein?

(Matt Smith) #1

Okay I’m fairly new to Keto. I started on 1/6. I have lost about 15 lbs thus far and still more to lose. The question that I have is, does it really matter to hit the Macros at 70% Fat - 20% Protein and 10% Carbs? I have maintained my Carbs below 20 total grams (about 7 to 10%) but my protein is much higher than the 20%. I am typically hitting about 45% on both fats and protein and 10 % on Carbs. I’m really happy with the weight loss thus far, just want to make sure it continues. To hit my overall weight goal I still have about fifty more pounds to lose.

(Cancer Fighting Ketovore :)) #2

Welcome Matt!

First, I wouldn’t focous on % amounts for fat, protein, and carbs.
I’d stick with a flat 20 g or less on carbs (the lower the better). Then an adequate amount of protein based on your lean mass, and fill the rest in with healthy fats.

Great job on your weight loss so far!

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #3