Tips for “normal life” eating

(Mette) #1

Hello! I am fairly new to keto, currently on my 30th day of lazy keto and daily IF of 16h. I have not been tracking my intakes meticulously, as I have a history of anorexia and do not want to go down that path again. Nonetheless I have seen great results in the past month where I am down from a size 14 to 10 and am enjoying the new eating habits. I don’t feel restrained at all.

Thing is that I have a job that from time to time requires me to go into business contexts where I have little control of meals. One upcoming challenge: tomorrow I will be meeting with new clients at a lunch meeting with sandwiches. I know most of you would probably just decline the sandwich but I am looking to take the best elements of the keto lifestyle to incorporate into my lifestyle and see how I best tackle eating a sandwich every now and then. Anyone else in similar situations where you at times will be forced to eat something out of your regular eating scheme? How do you deal and get back on the horse?

(Michael - When reality fails to meet expectations, the problem is not reality.) #2

As a newbie, the more consistently you remain in ketosis the better. Being consistently in ketosis helps heal/repair metabolic damage from eating SAD and enables efficient fat adaptation more quickly and reliably. If your work/lifestyle, however, necessitates an occasional non-keto meal/beverages, etc. then plan your keto eating around that event. In other words, the day prior do your IF as usual and make doubly sure you keep carb intake to a min, I’d even aim for zero carbs the day before. At the actual meal, minimize carb intake as much as possible. When you have options, choose the lowest carb options. The day following, again make doubly sure you keep carb intake to a min. An off plan meal ‘once in a while’ won’t cause much harm as long as you get back on plan immediately and ‘once in a while’ really is. Best wishes.

(Full Metal KETO AF) #3