Three months in, New Here, The Good and The Puzzling

New here, not new to dieting or keto. I did Atkins many years ago and gave up after a few weeks because I got bored with the food! (I know!) Keep in mind I was a student and did not cook beyond scrambled eggs and pasta. I was ok with meat but I was always much more of a pizza and pasta eater. Plus I was working on a paper with a then close friend and I kept biting her head off for no reason. I also do not eat pork (still do not).

Have gained and lost and gained significant weight about 3 or 4 times in the last 20 years. Before this I lost a bunch of weight in 2010 and kept it off for 3 years. Most of the time on a moderate carb, highish protein, moderate fat diet usually with no white carbs/flour and exercising for 1.5 hours 4x per week. Generally eating between 70-200 grams of carbs a day, about 100 grams of protein and about 70 grams of fat (I went back and looked at some of my logs), eating about 1500-2200 calories a day. The problem was that I was often tempted by pizza and hamburger buns etc. I would often break my diet any time I went to a party or my kids ordered pizza, sort of because “why not? I can always start again tomorrow or the next day or the day after that” That was then, this is now.

In March I found Dr. Fung’s site and read everything. I started IF while still eating my moderate carb diet and really liked it. I found it helped with my late night snacking habit. Then I started Keto in April in addition and have lost about 27 lbs since March and still have a way to go. Mostly things have gone well. My longest fast was 5.5 days. The ketostix and the cheap breathalyzer I bought on Amazon showed I was in Ketosis but I stopped using them about a month ago. The breathalyzer only seems to show I am in Ketosis during a fast and even then barely after 2 days.